During my elementary days, I would always look at New Year’s Resolutions as a special homework to be passed after Christmas break. Writing New Year’s Resolutions was a routine for me. Take note, I need to write two sets of these “commandments”: one for my formal theme in English class and the other one for my“Sulating Pormal” in Filipino. I did not realize its essence until now that I am asked to write an article about my 2012 New Year’s Resolutions.

COUSINS LOUISE AND FAYE, MY SISTER DENISE AND ME HAVING FUN AT SM MALL OF ASIA FOR THE TRANSFORMERS EVENT.

Before I get to the juicy part of my 2012 New Year’s Resolution, would you mind if we go on a recap of my 2011?Year of the rabbit has been a blessing to me. I am still alive despite my serious diseases. Thank you, Lord. Even if I did not write my 2011 New Year’s Resolution, I was guided through supportive family, friends, and tons of prayers. 2011 was full of fun memories with my family and UE Journalism Society. I have different personalities that I only see on television or read on newspapers. I also went to beautiful places and most of the time it’s for free. Lastly, I ate at a buffet restaurant were food was a wonderland – also for free.

Because of the opportunities and blessings that I have experienced, my visions for 2012 are clear. My theme for this year’s resolutions are “focused but fun”. I will focus on my goals at the same time have fun every step of the way. By hook or by crook, I will graduate. I am doing this for myself and for my dad who worked hard as a single parent to support my needs. All of my achievements are my gift to him.

My internship at the national Commission for Culture and the Arts opened my eyes to improvements. During my training, I have read different kinds of books about culture and literature. It helped me to broaden my ideas. I discovered my love for reading. For 2012, I will improve my reading habits and find more time on investing for books. I want to explore first the world through reading.

BOOKS, BOOKS, BOOKS TO FEED MY BRAIN.

My 2012 so-called “life list” is not just being a bookworm or engaging into an intellectual war. Life is short so I need to maximize having fun. I also need to be cautious about my health to achieve it. I will sleep early and relax more although this will be my most stressful semester. I can fully enjoy my plans if I am physically and mentally fit.

WITH NASH, SHIELA AND OUR BOSSES AT THE NATIONAL COMMISSION FOR CULTURE AND THE ARTS DURING OUR INTERNSHIP.

Many are wishing that this year I will have a love life. I thank them for doing so but this year, I really don’t mind being single. Heartbreaks are unhealthy for me. I will just focus on strengthening friendships and meeting new friends rather than trying hard on relationships for now. If it comes, it will. Thank you to the love of family and friends. I feel contented and always inspired.

HANGING OUT WITH MY TWO BEST BUDDIES, LORNA AND KAT IN GLOBAL CITY, TAGUIG.

Year of the Dragon will teach me the art of saving money. This year, I need to be prepared because after graduation, I have to be own my own. I need to save up while still studying. I will allot 15% of my allowance to my piggy bank so that I will not be empty-handed in the future. Last 2011, I did not have savings. Having zero balance in my wallet made me sad and guilty.

Apart from these resolutions, my most important resolution is my relationship with God. I always pray but my relationship with God is not as close as the time when I was first diagnosed with this serious disease. I will find more time to pray and rebuild my relationship with God. I know he is sad because I was a bit away from him. I feel sad of my actions, too. For 2012, I will constantly keep in touch with him.

MY AND MY GOD.

Writing New Year’s Resolutions gave me direction – a clearer view for improvements. I am a creative person but I only have simple joys, simple goals. Through this life list, I know that I will not get lost. I just want to maximize my stay here on earth. More importantly, New Year’s Resolutions are combination of evaluating yourself and working on the things that you want to change. I know that I can put into action what I have written above. It is a good feeling to change especially for the better. So world, get ready for the updated version of me.

IMAGE SOURCES:

http://www.google.com.ph/imgres?q=PAINT&um=1&hl=tl&biw=1020&bih=524&tbm=isch&tbnid=g2EpsCX7Jdqr8M:&imgrefurl=http://electrophoretic.com/site/index.php%3Foption%3Dcom_content%26view%3Darticle%26id%3D15%26Itemid%3D1

http://www.google.com.ph/imgres?q=heart&um=1&hl=tl&sa=N&biw=1020&bih=567&tbm=isch&tbnid=M1ylauHWT345nM:&imgrefurl=http://hsb.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dataja:Two_left_hands_forming_a_hear

